Wyndham Championship

The Wyndham Championship at Sedgefield Country Club

Each August, some of golf’s most competitive players visit the hallowed grounds of Sedgefield Country Club to participate in the PGA Tour’s Wyndham Championship. Established in 1938 as the Greater Greensboro Open, the Wyndham Championship is the oldest regular season stop on the tour and remains a popular attraction to many in our region. Its Champions include such greats as Sam Snead, Byron Nelson and Ben Hogan not to mention modern-day heroes such as Brandt Snedeker and North Carolina natives Davis Love III and Webb Simpson. 

The fan-friendly environment at the Wyndham Championship features local food offerings, craft brew concessions and exciting themed activities for the whole family. McConnell Golf members experience the tournament with special access to three skyboxes and Slammin' Sammy's in the clubhouse featuring live music, a full bar and breakfast and lunch buffet. 


"I have had the fortunate experience of attending most all... golf majors and Ryder Cups, and this event was first class. I was very impressed and appreciative for the amenities and hospitality afforded to McConnell Golf members." - Joe Lenoir

2019 Tournament Recap

Past Wyndham Championship Winners

2018 After shooting a record 59 on Thursday the pressure was on for Brandt Snedeker to retain his lead as Webb Simpson and C.T. Pan were in hot pursuit during a 36-hole Sunday. For his ninth PGA Tour victory, Snedeker fired a five-under 65 in the final round to win the Wyndham Championship for the second time in his career. The Greensboro tournament was his first win on the PGA Tour back in 2007. 

2017 - "Iceman" Henrik Stenson earned his sixth PGA Tour victory with a record-breaking 72 holes at -22. Formerly held by Carl Pettersson, the record was matched by Champion Si Woo Kim last year. His final round, Stenson edged out a hungry 24-year-old Ollie Schniederjans to win by one stroke.

2016 - A few back-nine bogeys and a late, hour-plus weather delay couldn’t derail 21-year-old South Korean Si Woo Kim at the 77th Wyndham Championship. Kim punctuated the victory with a birdie on the 72nd hole and became the youngest winner on the PGA Tour since Jordan Spieth won the 2013 John Deere Classic.

- Amongst such talent as Adam Scott and Tiger Woods, Davis Love III emerges as the Champion by shooting 64 in his final round to become the third oldest PGA Tour Winner in history.

2014 - In the 75th anniversary of the Wyndham Championship, fans cheered as “Spiderman” Camilo Villegas won the championship.

2013 - In the span of a couple of strokes, Patrick Reed went from almost certain disaster to his first PGA Tour victory, beating Jordan Spieth with a most improbable birdie on the second hole of a playoff. After nearly going out of bounds from the tee, Reed would hit an incredible shot from the rough, going up and down for birdie and winning the Sam Snead cup. Reed later said, "It was the best shot of my life, that's for sure." 

2012 - In dramatic fashion, crowd favorite Sergio Garcia won his first PGA Tour event since May of 2008 with a two-stroke victory over Tim Clark, to finish the tournament at 18 under. His victory elevated him to a roster spot on the European Ryder Cup team, which defeated the United States in September 2012 outside of Chicago in an epic come-from-behind victory.

2011 - Webb Simpson, a Wake Forest University alumnus, claimed his first PGA Tour title, shooting a final round of 67 to win by three strokes. When he defended his 2011 Wyndham Championship title in 2012, Simpson was the reigning US Open Champion.

2010 - Champion, Arjun Atwal, became the first Monday qualifier to win on the PGA tour in 24 years. Atwal led or shared the lead in each of the first three rounds and shot 67 in the final round to win by one stroke.

2009 - Ryan Moore captured his first PGA TOUR victory as he fended off Sergio Garcia and ultimately beat Kevin Stadler and Jason Bohn in a playoff to capture the victory.

2008 - The Wyndham Championship returns to Sedgefield Country Club and becomes the only regular-season event on the PGA Tour contested on a course designed by the legendary Donald Ross. McConnell Golf Member Carl Pettersson, set the record for the lowest round in Wyndham Championship history when he fired a nine-under 61 in the second round.